That’s What You’re Thankful For?

Here are 5  items that a year ago, I wouldn’t have put on my ‘thankful’ list. My, how times have changed!

My Nutritionist, Maureen Wasik

Maureen, without you,  I wouldn’t be eating all the green vegetables and protein that I need to function like a semi-normal human being.  Heck, before last December, I didn’t even HAVE a nutritionist! And thankfully, I’ve not had to go back to you since the summer since I’ve kind of surpassed what I needed your expertise for in terms of my own food intake and needs.  But truly, if I hadn’t found you when I did, I wouldn’t be as healthy as I am now. Thank you.  (I still haven’t eaten liver since that first time….I hope you understand.)

Kale and Brussel Sprouts20160525_121345_resized

Kale and Brussel Sprouts, you are the two greens who have helped to turn my cells around and give me back some of my energy lost from Lyme. A year ago, you wouldn’t even be on my grocery list, let alone in my refrigerator! Now, you are my friends that I love to eat and must have every.single.week.  I find that when I can’t get my fix of roasted brussel spouts with garlic and bacon, I’m missing you terribly..not in the same way that I miss chocolate, but almost. Thank you.

Green Tea20160629_183000

Green tea, you have allowed me to have one more fluid to drink besides water, and for this, my taste buds are truly appreciative.  I love to have some kind of ‘taste’ in what I eat and drink, and without you, I’d be stuck drinking plain.old.water. Thank you for giving me something different to drink each day, as well as provide some more ‘green’ in my diet.

Olive Oil

You truly know how to make a gal happy!  Just a few turns of you around the pan, and my eggs easily release and taste delicious, too! You also help keep my cholesterol and blood pressure low. And it goes without saying, my kale and brussel sprouts just wouldn’t be the same without you.

My Woo Woo Guy, Dan Court

And last but not least, Dan Court, my “woo woo” guy, you have started me on a healing road with the supplements that I faithfully take. I call you my “woo woo” guy because truthfully, your methods are so “woo woo” to my own experience.  And yet, your non-Western medicine methods helped me tremendously when the medical community, with their regulations and man-made medicines and by the book diagnoses, weren’t correct and didn’t work.  Yes, you are a long drive away from my home, and yes, I wish you took insurance to make my wallet a bit more full. BUT….had I not heard of you from a friend of a friend of my husband’s ,  I believe that I wouldn’t be as well as I am.

And I most certainly wouldn’t be back at work handling my 20 scholars with the full energy level that I currently have and need this year!

Thank you for opening my eyes and getting me back on the road to wellness!

Happy Thanksgiving, everyone!

Yours in Lyme Adventures,

TWL

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

