I AM THE BIONIC WOMAN

“Steve Austin, astronaut. A man barely alive. Gentlemen, we can rebuild him. We have the technology. We have the capability to build the world’s first bionic man. Steve Austin will be that man. Better than he was before. Better, stronger, faster.”

-Opening narration to The Six Million Dollar Man

I grew up watching this classic 70s show, along with the Bionic Woman and Wonder Woman. I loved these shows for what they represented in both a magical and scientific sense. The creators of these shows left me with an excitement for what science could possibly do for the human body in the future. The fact that these characters were human with flaws and downsides, but were also touched with either scientific or outer-worldly improvements to help improve society, was a very enthralling idea.

I worked in my garden yesterday against my own plans to sit and read. It’s my own fault: I went out to check on it, then I gazed at the azalea bush that was in need of pruning, and that was the beginning of the end. 20160718_095757In my head, I reasoned it would only take me a minute to do, and I had neglected to do it for several weeks now, so I grabbed the electric trimmer and extension cord from the garage. And, of course, that bush led to another, which led to another bush, which led to the lilac tree on the other side of the house…and before you know it, I was outside for about an hour and a half, dripping in sweat, weeding, trimming, and pruning several bushes and plants, and beginning to clean out a side garden. I also dug up some feisty day lilies that have started to grow outside of my fence and moved those little guys into that side garden.

Yes, I felt like the Bionic Woman yesterday. Until I noticed the red rash on my left arm later that evening.   I was sitting with my daughter and started to itch my arm when I noticed the familiar raised red bumps. Ugh.

I went immediately to my medicine cabinet to wash with my Burt’s Bees Poison Ivy soap. 20160718_100737Normally, after working in the garden, I would wash with the BB soap just as a precaution, but yesterday, I forgot. I had purchased the soap years ago and found that it worked better for me than the Technu soap that is highly promoted for poison ivy care. I wondered after having it for a few years if it would still be potent, but I tried it anyway, and it seemed to work.

This morning, I remembered I had read something about poison ivy treatment with essential oils. After a little digging, I found in one of my books, The Complete Book of Essential Oils and Aromatherapy by Valerie Ann Worwood, that lavender, eucalyptus, or chamomile oils applied neat or with a cool compress also work to calm the poison ivy itch.   I had some lavender castile soap in the bathroom, so I used that today in the shower just to try that out. It seemed to calm down the itch down a bit, so that’s promising. Later on today, I’ll try adding some lavender essential oil to it and see what happens.

I’m not the Bionic Woman, but I feel pretty close!

Now…off to the garden to water those little day lilies!

Yours in Lyme Adventures,

TWL

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “I AM THE BIONIC WOMAN

Leave a Reply

