Brain Fog Blows Your Reading Mind!

20160710_185703

When I was first so sick in the winter months from Lyme, I couldn’t read for more than ten minutes at a time.

It was devastating to me.

I’m a teacher, and I love books. Even before I became a teacher, I loved books.  I couldn’t go into a bookstore without walking out with at least one book either for myself or for my classroom. When I received my first Kindle, it was like manna from heaven. Access to so many books without having the weight of lugging them around was just too good to be true. I get the NY Times book review in my email, and it is just crushing to me how many good books are out there, just waiting for me to read. It’s like brain candy is being thrust at me with an enticing coy finger, because truly, there’s never enough time to even BEGIN to read even 1/10th of the books on the list each week! Just thinking about all those books is making me salivate…

And yet, this winter, my brain was literally reduced to mush just as quickly and easily as turning a page.

Over time, with a lot of help from various people and a lot of dedication to eat right and take numerous whole food supplements, I am starting to see little glimmers that my brain is starting to work again. It must be all that kale and green tea I’ve been eating and drinking!

Around March or April, I noticed a slight shift in my reading stamina, and I could read for up to about a half an hour before I began to lose focus. It was a slight increase, but that was a sign of progress to me that my brain was starting to heal.

I went to the library with my daughter about 3 weeks ago, and took out a bunch of books. Even with my Kindle, there is something to be said for holding a real book in your hands. So I am a multi-format reader reading “the real deal” and the electronic book format.

In spite of the fact that I already had a few books started at home: Above All Things, by Tanis Rideout and The Last Runaway, by Tracey Chevalier, I still came home with more books. And both of those books had to take the back burner once I picked up All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr and Ana’s Journey by Jenna Bush. I also selected a drawing book and two other ‘how to’ art books.

I finished All the Light We Cannot See over the July 4th weekend.  Finishing it before the month due date was as a huge task to personally celebrate, seeing that the book was about 700 pages. Better yet, I could actually recall what I had read previously, which was yet another wonderful milestone to recognize. If you’ve read the book, you know that it is not written in a linear fashion, which makes it an even more complex and enjoyable read.  And if you haven’t readit yet,  I highly recommend it as your next book to read!  I’ve started a Pulitizer Prize winning list on my Goodreads account as a result of this book.  Why not read the best of the best, right?

Ana’s Journey I read in a day. It wasn’t a complicated read, so that short time frame didn’t really surprise me.

My brain is on fire, (key in Alicia Keyes here….) so I went back to the library yesterday, and I’ve read two more books in a span of two days.

I read Murder in Connecticut, by Micheal Benson, about the Petit murders in Cheshire, Connecticut. And today I started and finished reading Blood Brother, by Anne Bird, a long-lost sister of Scott Peterson. She recounts how she reconnected with her biological mother and Scott about two years before pregnant Laci went missing and was later found dead in San Francisco Bay. Again, not complicated reads, but still pretty cool to me that I read two books in two days, considering that only a mere six months ago, I couldn’t read for more than ten minutes!!

It seems like my brain is now on overdrive, wanting to make up for lost time not being able to read for so many months.

Next up: Left For Dead by Pete Nelson, about the USS Indianapolis and a young student who wanted to clear the ship captain’s name. This is yet another book purchase that I actually acquired from the library’s used book sale.20160710_192632

I told you I can’t leave a book store, or a library apparently, without purchasing a book!

Happy Reading!

Yours in Lyme Adventures,

 

TWL

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Brain Fog Blows Your Reading Mind!

  1. I have the same problem, worse sometimes than others. I studied English and then got an MFA in creative writing. I’ve worked as a writer and editor all my career–and sometimes I can barely comprehend what I am reading. For some reason, I can still grasp technical and scientific information, but anything with a narrative–fiction in particular–is very, very difficult for me to keep up with, and this extends to movies, as well. I think it somehow relates to the short-term memory problems that come and go. I can still process information, but I’m poor at sequential processing. It really is devastating, and it has made reading fiction close to impossible, except in tiny increments of a few pages at a time.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I would add more greens to your diet! Kale, kale, and more kale….have you looked into The Wahl’s Protocol? I have such food limitations, but I can eat leafy greens…cook in olive oil…drink up to 100 oz water and green tea…and no sugar…it’s terrible to be losing your mind, but when it starts to come back, what a blessing!

      Like

  2. I’m glad you’re finding it easier to read again! I’ve had similar problems with brain fog and medical issues, so I know how hard and frustrating that can be. Praying for you!

    Like

  3. I am also a book fiend I see libraries and book shops as travel agents except you can travel through time and space! The last runaway is delightful! It helped me to understand a little of life across the pond ! Here in the U.K. We can’t really grasp the vastness of your country x

    Like

Leave a Reply

