Feel The (Inner) Burn, And I Don’t Mean Bernie Sanders!

 

20160629_183000Summer is  tanning season, but it is also burning season. Beach goers and parents alike lather up on the tanning oils and sunblock to either draw in or ward off the rays of the sun.

Luckily for me, I can easily feel the burn without having to go outside and bake in the sun to actually get burned, thanks to my tick sick blood.

People ask me with a concerned look on their faces what it feels like when I eat something that bothers me.  I tell them it’s like having a million bee stings in your body or a sun burn from the inside out. My skin even has a little red tinge to it all the time if you look closely.  Even more curious about my inside burn is that different parts of my body will react with different foods that I eat.  I ate some forbidden spreadable cheese and crackers the other night to see how I would feel. My knees were stinging all night.  Those yummy Hershey bars make my upper arms sting and you can actually see the redness on the backsides of them. “You are what you eat” really means something to me!

I’ve learned through burn and error that basically anything green seems to be the best food to reduce, but not eliminate, the sensation of my inner burn. Kale, green tea, roasted brussel sprouts, romaine lettuce, and cucumbers are good ones.  Even olive and green tea soap seems to soothe my skin. Peppermint, not so much.

It’ll be interesting to see how I feel once the New England winter comes…will I still have the raging burn inside or will the going out in the winter chill bring some relief?

Yours in Lyme Adventures,

TWL

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

