Budgeting

images

Living with a chronic illness changes your life in so many different ways.

One of the ways in which I’m still trying to manage is budgeting my energy. “Just like you budget your money, you need to budget your energy.”, a friend of mine told me recently. She worded it so well, and it’s been quite a realization at how true those words have become in my life.

Prior to Lyme, going to three different family events over one weekend was normal and while tiring, didn’t wear me out to the point of needing a few days to recoup.

Now, I have to really think about how much family time or extra events are ‘too much’ and learn to say “no” without feeling guilty. Even trips to the store or naturopath need to “planned” for me. No more quick jaunts about town to pick up a card for someone or buy that needed birthday gift. I just get too run down and need to factor in my eating schedule, too. Putting off eating or not eating properly drastically impacts  how well I feel.  It seems to take longer to get back up to “normal” for me if I miss meals, don’t eat or drink as typical for me when I’m at home, or if I miss my supplement regime.

One week recently, I had a wake, funeral, dance recital practice, and dance recital show in the span of 4 days. In my heart of hearts, I knew it was going to be a long four days, and I’d pay for it later, but I just couldn’t say no to any of these events. I had lost a childhood friend suddenly, and it was my daughter’s 5-year dance recital, complete with a trophy. Saying ‘no’ to these events that were truly important to those involved just wasn’t an option for me to even consider.

But true to form, all this activity was too much for my tick sick blood and body to handle. Even though I tried to pack enough food and drink to keep up my energy, just zipping around from place to place took its toll on me. I had a day’s break between the practice and the actual recital, and boy, did I need it!

images-1

Memorial Day weekend just passed, and it is one of my favorite weekends in the year. As a child, I loved going to my town’s parade, with the bands, the old cars, the never-ending Brownie troops, and the veterans.   I would proudly wear my red, white and blue each year, waving a flag and clapping and singing along to every patriotic song played. I still do this each year, and my ten-year old daughter has been encouraged as well to wear her colors and wave her flag proudly alongside me.

My husband has been helping with a Veteran’s float in a neighboring town for many years now, but this year, the parade was cancelled due to weather. I hate to admit it, but I was relieved. We had already hosted people at our home that Saturday night, and then we went to another family gathering on Sunday. I knew I needed a day to just recoup just from those two days, and I really didn’t have the energy for another all-day affair on Monday.

We will be going to the Memorial Day parade this coming Sunday instead. Thankfully, I will be able to rest up for the picnic food preparation, early morning drive, parade watching, and then the picnic that follows.

We’ve already been invited to a July 4th picnic. And my sister hosts one as well, although hers, I just found out, will be on the 2nd. We’re already planning on bowing out of some activities that weekend so that we can at least enjoy time with friends and family without me becoming completely worn down.

I need to budget my energy right now, like my friend so aptly stated. Next year, I hope it to be a different kind of budgeting!

Yours in Lyme Adventures,

TWL

 

2 thoughts on “Budgeting

  1. Such a burden you carry with this disease, but it sounds like you are doing so with perfect grace. I have to really commend you for pushing through and being their for your family and friends – as hard though it may be ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

